Now the Fun Part

9 Apr

The install is finished..Dispite a few problems all in all it wasn’t that difficult. I’m sitting here in the shop writing this post,at my make shift command center. The rain is falling again and it’s cold,but I have my pride in this job to keep me warm, [how corny was that?]

Now for the fun part, the merchandising. I was engaged to complete the entire job which means a working weekend. Next Wednesday is the pre-opening and it looks like I will be here until the end,[or the beginning,depends how you look at it]

Now we get to see how two years of approximation interface with the reality of the merchandise. Is there enough hanging space? Are there the right number of face out hooks? Does the P.O.S. fit in the counter? the list is endless.It really doesn’t matter how many questions you ask the client,it’s always the same, a guessing game that only experience can play. The fun part of my work is seeing the goods all in boxes spread out all over the place knowing that you are the only one who can make it a beautiful thing. As I look up from the keyboard I notice that the “creative commons” is devoid of life, no tours,no staff meetings,no electricians who insist on competing boom boxes and commercial country western radio, no one just me, it’s quiet, how wonderful, time for a private tour and more photos.

heres the link…https://picasaweb.google.com/vardisellis/NowTheFunPart#

6 Responses to “Now the Fun Part”

  1. theresa April 9, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    I think I’ll have to take a ride on Friday to check it out

  2. Sylvia April 9, 2011 at 6:34 pm #

    I know you will make it look incredibly good! The stairway is magnificent (until this I didn’t ever think I would use Osha orange and magnificent in the same sentence) and I absolutely love the bare lightbulbs on the looooong wire! I can’t wait to see the shots of the finished shop.

  3. vori52 April 9, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Sylvia you guessed it IT IS OSHA orange..the whole place is very cool try to stop in a see it the next time your up that way

  4. Robert April 9, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Wonderful project – how very exciting.
    I can’t wait to see the final project – complete with merchandising and customers!

  5. tanya April 10, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    as a person in the middle of all this Vori is right!! We are creating a new space to attract new customers. People who have never experienced anything our non-profit does.
    As is any organization retail falls last however still has a hefty budget looming over our heads.
    My only hope will be that the store will be as amazing as we have dreamt it to be……with Vori’s help it will

    • vori52 April 10, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

      The shop cant help but be great…the Bethlehem Steel branding is a homerun..I’m wearing mine right now….and i love it….thanks Tanya

Leave a Reply

