Cedric Gibbons and Delores Del Rio…

7 Oct

If you are a movie buff like me the name of Cedric Gibbons should be familiar to you. Mr Gibbons worked as art director and set designer for MGM, first for Sam Goldwyn in 1918 which later evolved into working for Louie B. Mayer from 1924 until 1956 a 32 year career. Gibbons was largely responsible for all those fabulous Moderne sweeping sets I still drool over in MGM’s films in the 30’s and 40’s.  He was the designer of the Oscar and ironically he was nominated 39 times and won 11 times, and that’s nothing to sneeze at. Gibbons holds the lofty title of the greatest display man of all time for having designed “The Wizard of Oz” [I’m so jealous I could spit] the yellow brick road,the emerald city,and the wicked flying monkeys. It just doesn’t get much better than that. Bare in mind he did all this at a time way before special effects,the sets were real constructions built from wood, chicken wire, stucco, papier-mache and lots of glitter. 

 

My only true regret is the date of my birth,I was born at the end of the studio system that produced those lavish sets. On the other hand I am lucky that I was fortunate to apprentice with display men and designers from that era. I owe much of my technique to those who valued beauty and elegance above all else. We were obliged to make products irresistible. Shocking vulgarity was never appropriate. Just like Gibbons we wanted to create a longing in the mind of the viewer whether it was a garment, a perfume or a room full of stylish furnishings.   

While googling around I ran across a real estate page that lists the home of Cedric Gibbons and his first wife Delores Del Rio. Miss Del Rio was the first major star of Mexican decent, her dark exotic beauty was the perfect match for the ”set” Cedric built for her in Santa Monica.

 

Take a peek at this pricey maison   http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/11/17/cedric-gibbons-dolores-de_n_784564.html#s184181

3 Responses to “Cedric Gibbons and Delores Del Rio…”

  1. Cindy October 28, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your web-site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What a perfect site.

  2. vori52 October 9, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    Glad you enjoyed this post

Leave a Reply

