Mens “Rigging” some things never change

29 Nov

I've Got You Under My Skin

Display has changed greatly over time, “Branding” has highjacked much of what I consider the  traditional skills that I learned as a young man from old school window trimmers.  The one aspect of Visual Merchandising that has survived is mens suit “rigging” which is the term used for fitting a suit or shirt to a display form. Butt sagging jeans and team jerseys have no baring on making an expensive men’s business suit look ” flawless” or as they say ” bounce a quarter off  the front of that shirt”. No amount of skillful digital photo manipulation can replace the look of the real thing, lit to death standing there in a window display.

  

As the years have passed I have encountered just about every category of product that retail has to offer and all the cyclical change in fashion that designers can come up with to sell their wares. The one category that still has a link with the past is traditional men’s clothing. Whether the vogue is 2 button, 3 button, double breasted, shawl, peak or notch they all require careful attention to the tailors art of detail.

I consider myself lucky to have a few  mensclients for longer than I care to remember. During the almost intolerable crush of the holiday season, when I finally get to my mens display I feel like I’m home. This year my tuxedo account won the trifecta of display. The” Jersey Boys” is opening next door at the Forrest theatre, Jerry Blavatt, Phillies local legend of music is conducting his bio-book signing in the store [Dick Clark wrote the forward] and it’s Christmas. What a handful that was.

 

                                                                                                                                                             The Geator

Take a look and of course it’s still not finished…..https://picasaweb.google.com/110585336863782076355/BlackTieChristmas2011#

2 Responses to “Mens “Rigging” some things never change”

  1. Christina Novembrino-Doucette December 8, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Did you design these windows? I’m very impressed.. This really got my attention and I think that’s what design is all about..you did an excellent job here. Are you an Interior Designer or do you strictly do window dressing. They’re pretty much the same in one.. But some people choose to do strictly fashion display..I worked for a boutique and they let me design the windows and I really loved it. I was able to become extremely creative with various fashion designs and I feel I did some of my best work there..Now a days they have the best window designs out there. You can integrate design with computers and various other technology. The sales go through the roof, especially at this time of year when you have excellent window displays. I love working with fashion and especially with furnishings and linens and various home decor..That’s why I became an interior designer.. I love the freedome of being able to be creative and the trust that the owners of the shops have in me..That’s a great feeling..

    • vori52 December 8, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

      Christina Thank You very much for your kind words…yes I did the windows and have been doing them at Black Tie Formal Attire for almost 30 years. I wouldn’t say that at this point I actually “Design” them it’s more like I just “DO” them. I’ve been doing them for so long that I give them very little thought. In answer to your question about interiors, Yes, I am a store planner I generally merchandise the the stores I build. Thanks again,become a follower to see more projects and thoughts on retail and planning..

Leave a Reply

