Fading Christmas Traditions

4 Dec
Me, another changing tradition

I have noticed that since the recession hit the size of Holiday decor departments have shrunk. Consumers have barely enough cash for their lists let alone new decor. Its been that way in retail as well, I just finished a whole season of installing old, faded and tangled Christmas “stuff” They say that a tight budget makes for clever solutions, that may be true at any other time of the year, but not at Christmas. Less is More, they say except at Christmas when more is never enough. Take it from me, retailers still want more of everything, only problem is they don’t want to pay for it. “Oh you’re so clever,im sure you can come up with something” they say, well flattery will get you no where with me at Christmas. How about I charge double the price to be clever?  Years ago we used to charge more for a Christmas trim, that is a tradition that is long gone. Ironically I run off to Wal-Mart, Target or any number of discount retailers to give them MORE, [even though they have less] Marshall’s is real good for cheap and BIG, but you are already too late, Lynne and I bought everything. The following article will give you a bit of insight into other disappearing traditions. Including the reason “It’s a Wonderful Life” doesn’t show up like it used to.

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/6-holiday-traditions-fading-into-obscurity.html

3 Responses to “Fading Christmas Traditions”

  1. richard1010 December 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    I agree with everything you said. I’m still confounded how people have the money to buy the newest cars, newest phones, newest largest TV’s and so on.

    Perhaps there is a little enevy going here! I’m not cheap but I must confess my car is an 06 Ford hybrid, my Blackberry is fours years old and we still watch a great reliable CRT Sony pushing 9 years old.
    Yeah, okay,
    I have a work station fit for a Nasa scientist with highest computing power
    possible put in the latest Mac tower and two NEC commercial 30′ screens.
    They are the tools of my trade. This is my my library at night to keep current and collect data to be informed if I’m to classify myself a global expert. To operate software that pushes any operating system to the limit.

    What we’ve lost is Christmas was not about our gift count or brands. Some things will go by the wayside because times change, I can appreciate that.
    Christmas or whatever you celebrate is shared spiritual renewal, for families to be together and we let our public “guard” down just a little, say a prayer for an another. I’ve had the good fortune to work in many countries, may I say, we are more alike than we wish to admit. Let the tradition of hope and love for your fellow good men & women never die. Think of the traditions that fill your heart and soul. We will always stay rich with these. Sounds so corny or shlock even to me as I write this but I know it true. I’l also admit Christmas is not an easy time for many us either. Keep think good thoughts, it helps.

    Best wishes,

    Richard Garvin | just a guy

    • vori52 December 8, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Thanks Richard Sorry I didn’t reply sooner but I had a good many “traditions” I had to fulfill…You are not being corny trust me. Merry Christmas to you

      • richard1010 December 8, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

        No worries, have a great Christmas and may all have a great year in 2012, whatever comes at us.

        Best regards,

        Richard Garvin

Leave a Reply

