The “SS United States”

1 Mar

Still beautiful

I suppose everyone knows I have a “thing” for the era of the “Atlantic Greyhounds”  I can’t get enough info, pictures and memorabilia about the great passenger liners. On or around February my mind goes to sea for a few reasons. Firstly I am a Visual Merchandiser and Feb. and March mean its Resort or Cruise time. Time to pull out the life preservers, portholes and sailor caps. I consider myself extremely lucky to live in Center City Philadelphia, not due to its colonial past [yawn] but to the fact the last great  Ship of State is docked here, just minutes from my home. I often eat lunch with the beautiful Big U she’s across the street from a Chick-fil-a, where I take a seat for the best view in town. I sit and reminisce with her about her preeminence as the symbol of Americas technological achievement. I think about her sleek lines, the elegant rake of her funnels and her enclosed promenades  conveying  an impressive roster of passengers to and from the “New world“. Travel today has little of the cache of the sea journeys of the past [Except Cunard] and air travel is downright dismal.

The Funnel

This year due to the urgency of saving our ship spear-headed by the S.S. United States Conservancy”  I decided [as I downed my second order of chicken strips] the United States would be up for window exposure. What the Hell!  the Gibbs brothers were natives, born here, Philly has a right to lay claim to the fastest liner ever to cross the pond. I set out to give our gal a little help, I know from previous experience that man on the street will always stop for a window display featuring trains, boats or planes. Good for my clients good for the Conservancy and good for me.

The results of the windows have been surprising beyond my expectations. I had decided to place the displays in two of my loyal and longtime clients. Robinson Luggage, located on the busiest corner in Center City uptown and  Ernesto Custom Tailors in the heart of Queen Village ,downtown. News travels fast. both stores received inquiries and compliments on the installation. The United State has more supporters than I realized, way beyond my passion for her. This brings me to end of this story. Steven Ujifusa  a local author,member of the Conservancy and passionate ship lover was informed of the window displays and sought me out for a brief interview to ferret out my reasons for my choice of subject. We met  and launched into a mutual Big U talk-a-thon. He informed me of his upcoming book release.  America’s Greatest Naval Architect and His Quest to Build the SS “United States.” To be published by Simon and Schuster in July 2012 – the 60th anniversary of the maiden voyage of the finest, fastest, safest, most beautiful ship ever built. 

Shes still in prison

What a pleasure for me to find relevance and excitement again in the [as of late] depressing retail scene. Here’s a link to Mr. Ujifusa’s blog and a posting about our meeting. Thank You.

http://www.stevenujifusa.com/2012/03/the-ss-united-states-in-philadelphia-window-displays/

2 Responses to “The “SS United States””

  1. seo May 13, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    Admiring the commitment you put into your site and in depth information you
    provide. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while
    that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.

    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • vori52 May 15, 2014 at 6:27 pm #

      Thanks….good to hear, I do try to be informative and slightly tongue in cheek to make it entertaining. I’ve been so busy of late that I haven’t had time to post. Keep an eye out..I’m due for another writing burst.

Leave a Reply

