The Cut-Away View..

15 Oct

stephen biesty's incredible cross-sections - Google Search - Google Chrome 10152013 44522 PM

The cut-away view, another victim of the age of virtual everything. As a child I was obsessed with these drawings, I spent hours carefully inspecting every minute detail. My own adolescent drawings were much the same I would draw detailed city blocks of buildings striving to include every conceivable detail. I was a strange kid, I had a penchant for disaster views, earthquakes and end of the world tableau were my favorite subjects. Many of you may know that I am still doing  fundamentally the same thing as an adult, the strange kid managed to make a career out of his childhood passions. Now it’s mostly 3D in nature but the same none-the-less.

stephen biesty's incredible cross-sections - Google Search - Google Chrome 10152013 44655 PM

The Roman Coliseum

stephen biesty's incredible cross-sections - Google Search - Google Chrome 10152013 44731 PM

A Spanish Galleon

Stephen Biesty’s incredible cross sections [which he draws by hand] bring back the memories of those hours spent as a child, consumed with my own ability to draw that which I imagined. I am older than Stephen, my cut-away inspiration came from magazines and advertisements. Popular Science the Saturday Evening Post and Life were a great source. The drawings I remember were mostly done by Frank Soltesz “the master of the Cut-Away” His “How it Operates” drawing are amazing, the detail is intense. Not only did he draw it imagine the amount of research it took to understand the operation, in the days before Google.

I couldn’t get enough of this sort

Ships were the best

Ships were the best

Trains were real good too

Trains were real good too

The Lost Art of the Cutaway  Messy Nessy Chic Messy Nessy Chic - Google Chrome 10152013 53303 PM

The Lost Art of the Cutaway  Messy Nessy Chic Messy Nessy Chic - Google Chrome 10152013 53148 PM

This is where I ended up

This is where I ended up

The Lost Art of the Cutaway  Messy Nessy Chic Messy Nessy Chic - Google Chrome 10152013 53339 PM

Too Greek for me…hit too close to home

REALLY liked this one I clearly remember seeing this,somewhere before.

REALLY liked this one I clearly remember seeing this,somewhere before.

Take a look at more Frank…http://www.flickr.com/photos/leifpeng/sets/72157600024625909/

One Response to “The Cut-Away View..”

  1. Sylvia Mellor October 18, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Great to see you are still following your talents!

Leave a Reply

