The Golden Globes…I hate award shows

13 Jan
Award shows bore me to tears…I barely even know who most of the participants are. All those thank you’s are agonizing. I much prefer to see the red carpet shots the next day. For me there are only three categories, “Wow thats perfect” “What was she thinking?” and “no opinion” which is probably the worst thing I can say….Professionally I must review them, it’s my job to know what works and what doesn’t so here we go….the Wows first, based on the appropriateness of the garment on the woman who wears it.

Perfect Laura!

Truly elegant

Perfect choice, lovely

Sexy and so underplayed,perfect

A bit over the top but it works

Great dress for you

Chic and so appropriate

Stunning choice..gorgeous

This is the definition of age appropriate, beautiful

Less is always more

Very modern, love it

Unusual garment that works, great proportions

Now for the inappropriate garment match with the woman wearing it

Trying too hard to make a splash with that fishtail and could you push them up any higher?

It’s not a garden party..and why would you want to look older?

We love you Julia but those sleeves are awful this gown does nothing for you.

Uma you’re not Cher..too much going on and none of it is beautiful.

Julia this does nothing for your figure, but kudos for the Less is More

A stunning dress but you’re not at the ball Cinderella…too much dress.

The 80’s are long gone,what’s with that shoulder action? Thats one busy garment

Too much skirt and that belt has to go..looks like the Red Peril has arrived

Edie, Christmas is over why look like you have been re-gifted?

Tina…I don’t understand this at all

Next time leave the boyfriend at home

Not the best color choice for a blond, next time go black

Where do I begin? Everything is wrong

4 Responses to “The Golden Globes…I hate award shows”

  1. ted guthrie January 13, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

    I generally agree… especially about Edie’s dress looking like it was re-gifted. But I thought Sophia’s was breath-taking… on the red carpet or the stage… not that I’d want to sit next to her or try to get by her table! (sometimes too much is just enough… and it was great to see her doing something other than wearing a ‘look at my amazing bosom’ dress)

    And why don’t you have a gig doing the next day commentary?!!

    • vori52 January 14, 2014 at 3:34 am #

      Ted…my criteria for reviewing was appropriateness, both on the woman and the affair. Sophia’s gown was certainly a stunner, but relying solely on size translates into pure pretentiousness…better suited for the Macy’s Thanksgiving parade.

  2. Julia January 13, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    Vori – you are right in the mark and had me laughing out loud! Great post!

    • vori52 January 14, 2014 at 3:36 am #

      Thought I would give it a try…after all Mr Blackwell is dead, someone should step into his shoes.

Leave a Reply

