American Apparel …Just Plain Vulgar

18 Jan

I don’t even want to post the photos of the latest window display that American Apparel installed at their Houston Street Shop. I even hate to write this and give them the satisfaction of the publicity. Female mannequin anatomically correct right down [literally] to pubic hair is just plain vulgar.

I’ve been a visual merchandiser my entire life and in my younger days crossed a few line into bad taste but never anything as taboo as this. I am anything but prudish, and consider myself “modern” in the choices I make into display themes. The only consolation is that it’s just a window display and will soon disappear [none to soon for me]

The breasts I can deal with but the rest is just beyond my imagining.

The breasts I can deal with but the rest is just beyond my imagining.

Here’s the link….which I hesitate to post...http://www.philly.com/philly/blogs/style/American-Apparel-mannequins-go-all-natural-Pubic-hair-shocks.html

2 Responses to “American Apparel …Just Plain Vulgar”

  1. ianmiddleton99 January 23, 2014 at 6:28 am #

    Don’t think it’s vulgar as much as plain silly. The hair they’re showing bears no relationship to anything like the ‘downstairs’ topiary of even the most hirsute modern lady. A trip to any beach in virtually any country would confirm that.

    This is just pure publicity seeking, via public titillation as with most AA campaigns. Or perhaps I should now coin the phrase ‘pubic-city’ seeking.

  2. Anonymous January 26, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    Celebrities are wearing underwaer as outerwear from a long time. Kim K not wearing any is not a news any more. Everything else is short, skimpy and translucent. Wax was around for so long that what bother you is only man made decor. Return to nature like animal or reptile print.

Leave a Reply

